top of page
Forest

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

  • Writer's pictureritafarhatkurian

The Touch of God – Poonam Tirwa

A very miraculous testimony of a young lady, called by God, used to stir up dead bones and bring life through Christ in a revival wave!

Poonam Tirwa, Sikkim/Siliguri

Gangtok, Sikkim I grew up in Sikkim, a beautiful state in India landscaped by the towering snowy Himalaya mountains. Each evening, as darkness drew near and the valley sparkled with jewelled lights over the hills, I trembled wishing that night would never come. Gathering my blanket around me in our tiny wooden cottage, I wrapped it around me tightly, shivering mostly from fear. My father was going to come home in the evening and my parents would have a massive war! My mother used to make alcoholic drinks, “bhang – rice wine” and sell it for a living while my father worked at a government job. Living was hard, and we struggled hard to make ends meet and tempers flew high in our little home. My parents took me to the temple, where we prayed to our gods hoping good fortune would fall on us. Sweet incense sticks smoked through our home to purify the spiritual atmosphere, but I felt a sense of hopelessness wondering whether the gods were listening… Then one scary night, an evil spirit came upon my sister. Horrified, I watched her thrash around with the strength of ten men, and her voice change to the sound of ten men speaking together. My mother gasped “We got to take her to my family!” My parents rushed out to take my sister to my grandmother’s house. My grandmother and aunts all mysteriously suddenly became Christians and we had no idea how they became Christians, but we knew their prayers were powerful. I was glad to see my sister get better with my grandmother’s prayers. Many others too prayed for her. I stayed with my grandmother for a while. Every Sunday morning, she would say, “Come along to church, go to Sunday School!” I was delighted with Sunday School and loved the songs, dance, choreography, and also learning the Bible. Later, I often found my mother saying, “Go to your Granny’s house.” I was perturbed, “Did my mother not want me home?” I thought. I felt a sense of rejection as I left to stay with my Granny.

Little Joys in Kalimpong When I was fifteen, my parents told me to go to Kalimpong to stay with my Aunt and Uncle, my mother’s family. I took the long bus journey all the way to Kalimpong, going along the winding road along the swiftest rushing river, the Teesta River, which rises from the East of the Himalayas. Kalimpong is a beautiful hilly town and I felt happy there. My love for Jesus grew more and more! I often helped out in houses, where they gave me a little money. With the money I received, I would buy sweets, chocolates and toffees for the children at the Sunday School in the little church where I was going.

A Stormy Road One day, as I was strolling along the road, to my horror, I saw my Uncle, my father’s elder brother coming towards me and he looked as furious as thunder. He roared at me, “What are you doing here, and I heard you are going to church! Why are you going to the church? Go back home immediately or you will be killed, you are a Hindu and you can never become a Christian!” He bent down and picked up a stone to hit me, but in an uncanny way, the stone missed me. I finally headed back home to Sikkim. Upon entering the house, my mother came to the door and said coldly and flatly, “You cannot enter, I heard about all the rubbish you were up to in Kalimpong, you brought shame to the family.” I was puzzled, wondering what I did. My mother was unrelenting. I quickly got to learn that my mother believed new false rumours spread about me that I was into bad business with men. Red with anger, she started to scream at me from the doorway, calling me filthy names. I was struck to the core, heartbroken and I finally cried out to my father and said, “Do you believe these false stories, my father? Do you think I would do such a wrong thing? All I want to do is follow Jesus, I have no unclean thoughts in my heart, beat me up if you think I am guilty!”

Miracles in My Family My father took a step forward and lifted up his right hand to hit me, but a stunning thing happened, his right hand got locked and he could not move it! He stared in amazement at his hand and then said in wonder to my mother and all present, “Do not touch the girl, Jesus is with her, if we do anything to her, it will be bad for us!” With this, my father miraculously turned to Christ. It was a wonderful start for me, and things got so much better at home. However, later, I married a non-Christian. I had a beautiful daughter from that marriage, but sadly because of the differences of our faith and our personal differences, knotted troubles arose and we were miserable. Our marriage did not last and at the age of 25, I was divorced.

This is my daughter

A New Road After this, I used to dream frequently of Siliguri and felt the winds blowing towards Siliguri. As a single parent, I was especially anxious about my daughter and wanted a good job to support her. I hoped to find a well-paying job as a beautician in a beauty parlour in the grand multiplex – City Center.

In August 2018, I made a journey to Siliguri. I arrived at New Chamta and stayed with a friend. That night, I was ready to hit the sack as I was so tired with the travelling. I sank down in my bed, looking forward to a good night’s rest. At around 3 .am., I got up with a start, feeling cold, clammy and was sweating profusely, I almost felt as if I was on the verge of a heart attack and gasped out, “Lord, what’s happening!?” There was still silence and I said again a little nervously, “What do You want to say to me, Lord?” In the stillness of the night I heard the Holy Spirit say, “Why did you come here?” I spent some time thinking and replied, “I have to find work to support myself and my daughter.” Jesus answered, “Look after My harvest and I will look after your daughter!” After hearing this, I went through a deep soul struggle. I felt like Jonah, fleeing on stormy seas away from God, but here, I had nowhere to hide. How could I not look for work, who will take care of us? How can I depend on my parents, I could not trouble them my whole life. O why is it so hard following Jesus sometimes, O where would I go? This intense wresting went on for two days and then, one night, I suddenly got a release and peace and I told the Lord, “Okay, if this is really You, I surrender everything and trust You. I leave all things in Your hands and I release my daughter into Your care and I place my life and future in Your hands.” After I said this, I had the strangest experience, I felt a hand touch me. That touch was wonderful and suddenly, a lovely aroma filled the room. An incredible peace filled me. I knew the Presence of Jesus was in the room.

Fresh Wonders in Ministry The next morning, a miracle happened! By 7 a.m., people were filing into the house I was staying in. They heard I was a prayerful Christian and they came for prayer! I spent the morning praying for them and also sharing from the Bible. I couldn’t help smiling. The Lord was clearly establishing my call in His own personal way, and who could fight it? That night, the Holy Spirit touched me again. As I was laying down and praying, I felt something fall on me, I opened my eyes and saw a bunch of keys in the spiritual realm! I asked the Lord, “What does it mean?” and He answered, “These keys represent children, I am giving you a ministry to children and they will open the door to your ministry.” Wonderful things happened after that. I managed to get a little place to stay. In time, God marvellously brought me in contact with Pastor Samuel Rana and Pinky Samuel who strengthened and helped my ministry. Many people came for prayer, and were healed and touched by Jesus.

The Miracle of Ruth There was a young girl called Ruth from a Roman Catholic family. Her parents had invited me to their home to pray for Ruth. She had a big belly and swollen feet and after prayer, she became much better. When she got healed, she would accompany me and share her testimony of healing and even took water baptism. On June 11, 2019, Tuesday, I was at my place making a cup of tea for myself, when I suddenly got a call from Brother Alfred (who helps with Pastor Samuel’s ministry and is a worship leader there too) told me, “Please hurry, it looks like Ruth is very seriously ill.” Praying, I hurried to go to her place and as I was going, I got another call from another girl saying, “Please hurry, Ruth is very ill.” By the time I arrived, I saw her lying down on her bed, almost lifeless and she could barely speak, but she managed to point to the picture of Jesus on their wall and gasp, “He is calling me, I’m going to Jesus.” Stunned, I asked Ruth, “Are you ready to go?” Ruth shook her head and said, “No.” I felt very sorry to hear that, and I thought I would go back home and pray for her, so I hurried back to my place which was nearby. After around ten minutes, I got a call and Brother Alfred said sadly, “Ruth has gone!” With a heavy heart I said, “We have to call Pastor Rana and Pinky Mam to make arrangements for the funeral. Brother Alfred called them and they too were very broken hearted to hear that Ruth had passed away because she had not been ill and it was a very sudden death. Pastor Rana started making the arrangements for the funeral! Then I heard a Voice say, “Call her name, call Ruth’s name!” Was I hearing correctly? I reasoned that if the Lord was telling me to call her name, I would have to do it. I believe that if God calls someone, we cannot fight death, and I accept the will of God so this was an entirely new experience for me, to go to a dead body and call their name. What was the Lord doing? I rushed back and looked at Ruth, she was not breathing and she was turning stiff. I then with faith said loudly, “Ruth!” Ruth then gave a little gasp as her breath went in! After four to three to four minutes, she turned to her right. But there was no movement after that. My prayer group and I in New Chumta gathered in Jacinta’s house and prayed for one and a half hours storming the heavens for her life. After that, we went back to see Ruth, and got the biggest surprise, Ruth sat up and the firth thing she did was laugh! Ruth’s coming back to life was a miracle that nourished our faith in New Chumta. Sometimes, we need that little spark to ignite our spirits and God gave it to us! Ruth told us that she saw Jesus and the angels, but she was not released to go further with them. She did not cross the Pearly Gate, and felt her pull back to Earth. The marvelous turnaround was the quiet in-working of the Holy Spirit in Ruth’s life. Her countenance transformed to an inner peaceful glow. She started pouring out prayers for others and reading her Bible with fervour with a fresh holy passion in her life.

God is Calling Us God has a plan for everyone and if we walk in His call, His waves of blessing, mercy, and grace saturates us , working within so we can manifest out. We are looking forward to see the wonderful new things Jesus will do in New Chumta and the Bethel Fellowship in the days to come. God is faithful and His touch has the power to change everything.

I am grateful to Pastor Samuel Rana and Pinky Samuel for all their guidance, and wisdom and the beautiful way the Lord led me to Bethel Fellowship and for all the help and support from that, that is from His hand. When God leads us and is with us, we have nothing to fear!

Knowing Punam has been a personal blessing because her walk with Jesus is so fresh and pure and she is a powerful prayer warrior and a true intercessor, which is quite rare these days. She is a great blessing wherever she goes, bold in faith and in word, overflowing in prayer. God is enabling her to stir many unto revival and her call in this day and hour is crucial for the Kingdom of Heaven.

Rita

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mama, Do You Hear Me?

They called me a little egg No arms, face or legs A little heart beating 24/7 A little soul, happy in oblivion I loved my Mama’s voice I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page