top of page
Forest

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

  • Writer's pictureritafarhatkurian

The Secret Places!

We are actually night people because our work calls us to work through the night. As day dawns, we yawn. However recently, I have suddenly been alerted and re-freshened to pink dawns in a glorious new way. Then yesterday morning, I was wide awake, fresh as a daisy, and had the privilege to see the most awesome golden dawn with the sun sparkling up the river close to our flat. A feeling of peace and tranquility filled me and experienced some spiritually lifting meditations on the Word. Needless to say, I had a really spiritually rich morning and felt ready to take on the tiger, whatever that means! Just take on the tough things of the day with renewed strength. This is what the Holy Spirit pours into us when we spend time in His Presence.

The verse Isaiah 50:4 lifted my soul. The Sovereign LORD has given me a well-instructed tongue, to know the word that sustains the weary. He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being instructed.

Why are mornings the best time to hear God?

1. Our brain, body, soul, spirit is renewed by sleep, refreshed, unless of course one suffers from sleep apnea…waking up feeling more miserable! And of course, if we worked whole night, as we do, (my husband and I, online on medical files). But the morning is generally when our spirits are more receptive, refreshed and open. The mornings are like tender buds waiting to open up. Time soaked in God’s presence will anoint our day when we give Him our first fruits, first time. A special anointing flows out of that day!

2. God met Adam and Eve at dawn. Genesis 3:8 says, “And they heard the sound of the LORD God walking in the garden in the cool of the day. Of course, we meet with God throughout the day, but the dawn times are filled with heavenly dew and manna to deeper and fresher degrees.

3. God wants our first fruit..So our first Times in the morning are like our first fruit! Exodus 23:19 – You shall bring the choice first fruits of your soil into the house of the LORD your God. Without meaning to be legalistic and understanding that not everyone has a morning schedule and God knows and understands that..but however as far as possible, giving those fresh morning hours to Him revives us in ways we cannot imagine throughout the day..Fresh thoughts pour in, insights, guidance, and wisdom.

Years back, I remember a young Christian lady who had a lot of anger issues. Then she started going for early morning walks in the pink dawn, walking and praying..I found her very peaceful and happy throughout the day and was fascinated to learn this mighty renewal came from her early morning times with God.

From my window one of these dawns!

When I was a new believer, back in the 90s, in a Bible study, I excitedly shared about the awesome times I had about waking up at 4 a.m. Very strangely, after sharing that in the group, the next onwards, I never could get up for worship at that time. Long down the years, I learned that sometimes, when we share something new we learned, which helps us grow spiritually, the devil waits to tear us down with it. Perhaps someone in the group even prayed it down. The truth is, when we are in the learning process, we need not talk about it or share some jewel we gleaned, until we have actually climbed that mountain for a long season and become a veteran in that field! I think our learning processes have to be in the secret place. (I remember Sampson, he did not immediately share some things and rightly so. In fact, the biggest mistake he did was telling Delilah.

Saul’s uncle said, “Tell me what Samuel said to you.”

Saul replied, “He assured us that the donkeys had been found.” But he did not tell his uncle what Samuel had said about the kingship. (I Samuel 10:15-16, NIV)

So Samson’s wife wept before him, saying, “You hate me; you do not really love me. You have asked a riddle of my people, but you have not explained it to me.” He said to her, “Look, I have not told my father or my mother. Why should I tell you?” (Judges 14:16, NRSV).


So let our times be sweet, secret, our learning strengthen us long before we share them openly.



Mornings times with God have proven to be invigorating, reviving, and life changing for me!



Rita F. Kurian


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mama, Do You Hear Me?

They called me a little egg No arms, face or legs A little heart beating 24/7 A little soul, happy in oblivion I loved my Mama’s voice I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page