top of page
Forest

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

  • Writer's pictureritafarhatkurian

The Power of a Song in the Night

Amazing things happen when we learn to sing in dark times. It has the power to rescue us out of dark waters.

I was in the midst of a dark gloomy season when all hell was breaking loose and things were going wrong. During that time, it was very difficult to even look to the Heavens to pray.

I went into a frantic mode of endless doing and rushing around, sometimes went into a retreat mode where I would slip under my covers and hide under the comfort of a blanket and shut out the world because situations were becoming overwhelming.

One particular night, I felt as if I was drowning in dark waters! I think I must have cried out to God, I cannot exactly remember what happened, but there was a lot of cry in my soul.

A few nights later, I had a dream. I had a dream that I was in a place, which was dark and grey-black and full of brownish colored creatures – demons! In my dream I kept rebuking them and as I did, they would slink away. Yet after a while, they would come creeping back to invade my home and cause disruption and chaos.

In my dream, I was finally exhausted. I was tired and I could not rebuke them anymore because they kept coming back. It was as if the backdoor was open and they found their way back again and again.

Tired, I finally started to sing a song in my dream, weakly in a whisper. It was an old song I knew from before, but later, I suddenly started singing new words with a new song. I was making up the words instantly in my dream. I could hear my voice ringing out powerfully.

Then…something started to happen. the little demons started to flee! As they disappeared, they finally were gone. They did not come back.

I looked around me in wonder. The sky turned a beautiful blue and the air around me became crystal clear and clean. In my dream, I could hear my own voice singing and as I awoke, I could still hear echoes of the song resounding. I got up with an amazing pure washed peaceful feeling as if I had met with the Lord in a special encounter in that dream.

I do feel that Jesus revealed to me the secret warfare of songs of praise that have the power to dissipate demons. There is a verse, Psalm 149:6 “May the praise of God be in their mouths and a double-edged sword in their hands.”

From that day on wards, I found a breakthrough in my situation. I started to come out of the dark waters and my situation started to change, more importantly something changed within me.

In the next few days, I opened the Bible and the verse fell on my eye very clearly as if the Lord was speaking to me directly, “ And He hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD” Psalm 40:3

Amazing things happen when we learn to sing in dark times. It has the power to rescue us out of dark waters.

It may start as a weak whisper, but will some become a powerful torrent under the Holy Spirit and bring forth miracles and change!

Rita F. Kurian

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mama, Do You Hear Me?

They called me a little egg No arms, face or legs A little heart beating 24/7 A little soul, happy in oblivion I loved my Mama’s voice I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page