top of page
Forest

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

  • Writer's pictureritafarhatkurian

September 25 – The Power of a Communion Walk

September 25 – The Power of a Communion Walk

John 15:4:  Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me.

Sometime in my life, during my Bible College years in Mumbai, my prayers diminished and I hardly ever spoke to God.  I was just too “busy” to pray because I was ” studying the Bible and “too busy doing things for the Kingdom of God.”  On hardly speaking to God and stopping my prayers and communion, I fell into apathy, coolness and almost felt as if I was walking in a mist with my spiritual life fading during the end of my Bible College days.

Then a lot of bad things happened and there were rough roads and storms.  One night, in 2008, the Lord impressed upon me “Commune with Me, talk to Me and your life will change!”

Initially I found it hard, my mind was cluttered with so many thoughts and I struggled, but slowly through my struggle, I started to commune with the Lord and talk to Him through the day.  In communion, I got a new lease of energy and slowly started to get back a spiritual zest to pray and I started praying my “warrior prayers” again upon the leading of God.

Amazingly, the “bad” things started to leave.  I saw wonderful breakthroughs in very tough times.  I went a step beyond and started to pray for nations with tears, which I believe are tears of the Spirit.

In 2009 to 2010 onwards, I started to sing again. I mean sing worship songs to the Lord with my own words rising out when I was worshiping alone!  I started to write articles, thoughts and poems after a very, very long dark silence of being unable to even pen a line, as I mentioned earlier.

There were some seasons of darkness after this, because I lapsed again in lack of communion and prayer life due to a very busy schedule with family, my very energetic two small sons, working online on medical reports and cooking, etc.  Our busy schedules should never be an excuse because I did learn that if we take out time for the Lord, He will add more time back to us.  He will give us what the canker-worm has stolen from our lives.  I picked it up my prayer life back again in 2014.  I guess some of us humans like me take very long to learn certain truths!

For me, my mother had brought an amazing book with her on one of her visits to our home in Bangalore by Becky Tirabassi “Releasing God’s Power”.  This was the book that I needed at that hour which unleashed a new vivacity to pray and meditate again.

Communion with Christ in talking and listening gets us back in the flow where new joy and energy was released.

Rita

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mama, Do You Hear Me?

They called me a little egg No arms, face or legs A little heart beating 24/7 A little soul, happy in oblivion I loved my Mama’s voice I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page