top of page
Forest

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

  • Writer's pictureritafarhatkurian

February 12 – February 12 – The Asking Prayer – Prayer Series

February 12 – The Asking Prayer

Matthew 21:22:  And whatever things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.”

Some years back, as I was editing a testimony for a known person, he had shared that while he got joy, peace and love when he was newly born again in Christ, in time, he realized with horror that he still had his old temper fits that suddenly would show up.  He asked people to pray for him, and he got delivered.  Recently, I was under a certain situation, which hit my emotions full blown.  Usually, I never ask personal requests for myself and battle them out myself, but I was compelled to ask certain friends I know who would pray to pray for me. I am feeling a new strength, the struggle is still there, but the strength is new. I know I will overcome.  This is the power of prayer as your backbone and the wonderful Body of praying friends!

Asking is the first level of intercession.  Asking God and asking others too strengthens our ammunition in our battle. 

Our prayers are based on a relationship:  We have to know that God cares for our problem, even if it looks crazy, even if it may be out of sync and totally not spiritual, God knows and He cares.  The Bible says in Matthew 7:8. If a child asks his father for something the father knows to be hurtful, the request is denied. The child may be frustrated and unhappy when he doesn’t get what he asked for, but he should trust his father. A father will provide for his child because he loves his child.  He is our Father, He loves us and cares for our struggles. God so loves the World! He loves the people…He loves us!

He hears our prayers in our deepest struggles in the darkest nights. In fact, in the darkest nights, we see the stars, as the quote by Martin Luther King goes. The darkest nights draw us closer to God. The darkest nights enables us to see angels and the supernatural.  The darkest nights illumines our spiritual understanding and deeper dimensions.  It is in my struggle right now that I started listening to messages I never did, started appreciating things I never did and praying a new way I never did. Otherwise I think things would have just gone on the same way.

Jesus tells us to ask in His name. If we are in a walk with God, we will ask in His will because our spirits are aligned to God.   1 John 5:14, “If we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.” If we are not aligned to God and we pray for something out of His will, our hearts will disturb us. 

Psalm 37:4: “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” When we love Him and delight ourselves in God, our hearts are joyous.  In the spirit of joy, His power is released. Our hearts change when we delight in Him. His desires become ours.

He will not give us dangerous things that will harm us later in life.  We may be begging for something, but God may see a better plan.  He will not give us everything we demand, but through this, will give us deeper peace, and joy because His presence is among us.  So know in the trial which will be brief, you will get peace and joy!   God knows all. The Holy Spirit is our best most wonderful gift and Person in our lives and He will teach us how to pray.  In delighting in Him, our love for Him grows and He gives us anything we ask.

Sometimes God makes us wait for our request.

Sometimes God knows it is bad for us and does not give it to us.

In His time, He opens a new door and gives us something better.

Be assured He will never disappoint you!

Rita

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mama, Do You Hear Me?

They called me a little egg No arms, face or legs A little heart beating 24/7 A little soul, happy in oblivion I loved my Mama’s voice I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page