top of page
Forest

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

Helvetica Light is an easy-to-read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.

  • Writer's pictureritafarhatkurian

April 13 – In the Maze of Illusions

April 13

We are living in a world of externals. Everything that looks good on the outside seems alright.  When we find someone that’s attractive or beautiful, most of us assume they are good people or we simply adore them. If someone is not so attractive, we may tend to ignore them or overlook them.  We see this in social media, if someone looks pretty, they get a whole lot more attention. The truth is looks are deceptive.  Hence the illusion.  People who are wrapped up in their own lives could be obsessed with themselves, their own beauty to such a degree that they can never feel sorrow for others.

Souls searching people are deeper. They read about events, read the news, listen to the woes of others. This is how character is developed. When we go beyond ourselves, we can become better people.  However, if we live in our own ponds like frogs, we will live and die in an illusion.  We never felt the pain of others and thus die alone in our own pond one day.   People who are shallow never look beyond the surface, and don’t even care to try.  They would never donate for a cause, never help others, never speak out for the oppressed and needy.. If something is wrong in the political system, they cannot sense it because their souls are shallow. They say, beauty is skin deep.  

            Such they don’t care about anything much and the problems of the world seem very boring and unexciting.  

We may not naturally feel the pain of others, but opening our hearts to listen to the news and learning about new things happening around us slowly can make us more sensitive. We can grow to another level if we try. We don’t have to be a beautiful frog living in a pond forever, without feelings for others!

Kurt Cobain “I was tired of pretending that I was someone else just to get along with people, just for the sake of having friendships.”

“I have been finding treasures in places I did not want to search. I have been hearing wisdom from tongues I did not want to listen. I have been finding beauty where I did not want to look. And I have learned so much from journeys I did not want to take. Forgive me, O Gracious One; for I have been closing my ears and eyes for too long. I have learned that miracles are only called miracles because they are often witnessed by only those who can can see through all of life’s illusions. I am ready to see what really exists on other side, what exists behind the blinds, and taste all the ugly fruit instead of all that looks right, plump and ripe.” ― Suzy Kassem, Rise Up and Salute the Sun: The Writings of Suzy Kassem

Rita F. Kurian

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mama, Do You Hear Me?

They called me a little egg No arms, face or legs A little heart beating 24/7 A little soul, happy in oblivion I loved my Mama’s voice I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page